A big diner for Menelik!!

Publié le par Marine May

You can think it is quite difficult to act directly for the children in the Congo on stayong in England. However it is stii possible to help the charity here in order to get money for example. 

The first time I came to help them was a saturday, and we cooked a diner for 220 students from the Med School of Cambridge University for more than seven hours!! It was great, very funny, and we shared a good and relaxing time. Mmmm maybe not relaxing for the whole time, because at around 8'30, when people started to eat, we realised that we didn't cook enough!! And students are so impatient! We had to hurry and prepared more food! But I really enjoyed this time, and I learned some specialities from the Congo, which were so tasty! The diner was free for the students, but they could participate and give money. And it's was also a good publicity for Menelik.

The next saturday, I went to the Grafton Center (near Anglia Ruskin), which is a big shopping center in order to run a flag day. I had a little box, some flyers and I asked people for a second to take abour charity. For one hour and a half I got around 10 pounds, that seems ridiculous but it's really hard when people just don't look at you and try to fixe their shoes to avoid your look...!! What was really funny that I met my employer at that time! I tried to go into hidding but she saw me, I explained what was my mission there and she gave me one pound :) I was surprised but happy!! Anyway, this afternoon was a great experience too but, even shorter, harder than the previous one!

The week after, which bring us to last friday, we organised another diner in Ely, the city in the north of Cambridge, for 60 people. The topic of the evening was Salsa, and it was so funny and so nice to see them dansing and enjoying their diner. We were four cooks, under the guidlines of Theodore!

The first image below is the room before everybody arrive. Then it's our team!! Sylvio, Theodore and Paulina.

DSC01418DSC01419DSC01424.JPGDSC01420.JPG

As you can see, the quantity of food is huge but there were even more the last time! And then we dansed a little bit, that was so funny because neither Sylvio nor me could danse Salsa, but we tried just for fun!

DSC01421.JPGDSC01438.JPGDSC01445.JPG
For anyone who are going to Cambridge next year, you should join this nice team. It's important to become involved in a charity, and this one is the best one :)
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article